top of page

Corned Beef and Cabbage in the InstantPot


I love corned beef and cabbage. It is one of my favorite comfort foods, and while not like my normal healthy clean eating, but it tastes amazing. And with St. Patrick's Day coming up I decided to try and IP version.

Interestingly the IP has an interesting way of cooking, and while nit exactly the same as cooking all day on the stove; but it is way quicker, and it seems to be less fatty. I saw a video by Pressure Luck, and it inspired me for my version.

I don't drink, but even considered using beer, but then decided against it. Then at almost the last minute, I decided to try Dr. Pepper.

I used 1 cup of water and 1 cup of Dr. Pepper and used the trivet.

I then added the onions, and then placed the brisket on top. I did add the spices similarly to the way Pressure luck instructed; but DO NOT RINCE the pickling solution off the brisket.

It is hard to see well through the steam in my photo, but it brings up a step, I didn't really mention. To get the pressure cooker to seal quicker, I let the pot come to temperature by putting on simmer at the hottest setting. Then I left it on as I added the brisket; and it helped come to pressure almost immediately and saving some time.

I then cooked the brisket for 2 hours, on the pressure setting, valve closed, did a 15 min natural release.

While it cooked, I chopped up my carrots, and my cabbage. I used small potatoes, so I didn't do anything with them. I clean my veggies with a brush well, but to save time I don't peel my veggies. Depending on what I am cooking I sometimes don't even peel onions.

I then stuffed all the veggies into the IP, potatoes, carrots, then cabbage on top. I cooked for 3 minutes on pressure setting, with the valve closed, and did a quick release.

The end result was not exactly like my fall apart comfort food; that I cook all day. But it was really good. and was way better than I expected from cooking for 2 hours.

 

Corned Beef and Cabbage in the InstantPot

  • Corned beef brisket with seasoning packet

  • Carrots

  • Potatoes

  • Cabbage

  • Dr Pepper

  1. Put 1 cup of water and 1 cup of Dr. Pepper in to the IP.

  2. Add the trivet.

  3. Place onions on the trivet.

  4. Add the brisket over the onions, and top with seasoning packet. DO NOT RINCE the brisket off.

  5. Cook on 2 hours on the pressure setting, with the valve closed, and do a natural release for 15 minutes.

  6. Remove the cooked brisket and cover with foil.

  7. Add veggies with potatoes on the bottom, carrots in the middle, and cabbage on top.

  8. Cook for 3 minutes on the pressure setting with the valve closed, and do a quick release.

  9. Serve and enjoy!!!

bottom of page