top of page

InstantPot Vegitarian Stuffed Peppers

I had a friend over the other day and decided to make her something easy and heathy, and for my lunch the next day. And theses Peppers were the result.

They are not he typical Italian Style peppers, but more of a Mexican-Indian style pepper.

This starts with making quinoa. To make quinoa in the IP add 1 cup of quinoa and 1 1/4 cup of water. Pressure cook for 1 minute with the vent closed and do a natural release for 15 minutes.

I absolutely love this method for quinoa. Perfect every time.

I then added all the ingredients directly into the cooked quinoa. This is one of the many times I am glad I have 2 IP's a 3qt and a 6qt, or to have a second pot to cook in.

I cut them in half so and stuffed the peppers and toped with some shredded cheese.

I then use the Pot in Pot method. I cooked them on pressure with the valve sealed for 4 minutes, and did a quick release.

The next day, I took these to work, and my co-workers loved them.

Even better, there was more than enough filling to make a Tamale Pie...which I will have the recipe for in the coming week.

Would love to hear if you tried this and enjoyed it! post here or on Facebook.

 

InstantPot Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

  • 3 peppers (This makes WAY more than enough for 3 peppers, but only 3 fit into my IP pot in pot pans)

  • 1 cup quinoa

  • 2 shallots

  • 1 can of black beans

  • 1 can of corn

  • 2/3 cup of salsa

  • 1 jalapeño pepper corred and cut into tiny pieces

  • 1 1/2 teaspoon cumin (I prefer seeds to ground)

  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika or regular if you cannot find the smoked

  • shredded cheese to top peppers

  1. Make the Quinoa by cooking under pressure for 1 minute with the valve closed and allowing for a 15 minute natural release.

  2. Directly in the cooked quinoa, add smoked paprika, cumin seeds, jalapeño, shallots, corn, salsa, and beans and mix.

  3. Cut peppers in half and stuff with filling, and top with cheese.

  4. Cook using the Pot in pot method, on the pressure setting for 4 minutes, with the valve closed, and do a quick release.

bottom of page