top of page

Cornbread Idli in the Instant Pot

So most people are probably asking themselves “What the heck is an idli?”

An idli is like if grits and cake were combined. I will post an idli recipe in the future. But it is a traditional Indian disk of yumminess.

In this instance it was purely out of laziness. I realized if I wanted to make cornbread my idli pan would be the easiest to clean, and no muffin papers or cleaning up individual cups would be needed.

You can do something similar in muffin cups, ramekins, or small mason jars. But I realized the idli pan would be awesome for cornbread. When I mentioned it to my co-worker, she also agreed, cornbread idli is the best way to go.

I mixed up a box of Jiffy Mix. I had some half and half, so I used that instead of milk.

Often I don’t have milk, so I keep condensed milk or other canned milk, or make nutmilk or hemp milk.

But this particular time I used half and half.

Idli pans are stacking trays with small depressions to add batter. So I added oil so the batter will not stick.

I am used to idli, which doesn’t rise much. So I over filled these. But they still turned out great.

I also make homemade butter, and while this was cooking churned the butter.

I placed the idli tray into the InstantPot. First I added about 2 cups of water, and allowed it to come to a boil on the sauté mode as I added the batter to the tray.

I pressure cooked for 15 minutes, valve closed, with a quick release.

You can see, the batter rose a bit. But nothing too major, and the cornbread was perfect!

And the best part is the rice paddle that comes with the IP is the perfect shape to scoop the idli's out of the pan!

Added some of my homemade butter, and it was a fantastic addition to the corn chowder I had leftover (and will be posting next week).

 

Cornbread Idli in the Instant Pot

Ingredients:

Jiffy mix or other corn bread batter

Cook in Idli pan or other pot in pot method in the IP, with 1 cup of liquid. 15 minutes at pressures setting with the vent closed, quick release.

bottom of page