top of page

Tamale Pie in the InstantPot


One day I was perusing Pintrest for something interesting to make, and I came across a recipe for "Tamale Pie".

This is in quotes because I an really not sure why this is called tamale pie. Yes, both contain corn... but that is about the only comparison between this pie and a tamale.

Also I apologize for the photos in this blog, I hope to update them at a later time. Some were taken by my daughter, and this was probably biggest fail I had cooking in the IP. But I had others try out my updated timings, and they had success.

And while the execution was not so great, the results were amazeballs!

When I read over the recipe, I had just made the Stuffed peppers, and realized the stuffing would be a great mixture for the tamale pie. I just added some tomato sauce to the pepper stuffing!

I then added the mixture to my pot in pot pans, and pressed it in to make a good base for my pie. And then added the cornbread to the top

My first mistake was not greasing the top of my lid. So make sure you do that, or grease the foil if your using that too.

My second mistake was the filling was cold from being in the fridge, and I didn't add enough time to the IP cooking time. But as I mentioned, I made some adjustments and asked friend to try it out, and they got some good results, but didn't take photos.

So now cook the Tamale pie, on the pressure setting with the valve closed for 30 minutes. If your filling was cold or you are not ready to eat right away do a natural release, but a quick release should still be OK either way.

As I mentioned, I had a few mishaps in the making of the tamale pie. So my end result looks janky. But the flavor... AMAZING! this is now one of my favorite things, other than soup, that I have cooked in the IP.

Did you try this? Tell me what you think! Post here or on FaceBook

 

Tamale Pie in the InstantPot

  • Jiffiy corn muffin mix

  • 1 egg

  • milk per Jiffy instructions

  • 1 cup cooked quinoa

  • 2 shallots

  • 1 can of black beans

  • 1 can of corn

  • 2/3 cup of salsa

  • 1 jalapeño pepper corred and cut into tiny pieces

  • 1 1/2 teaspoon cumin (I prefer seeds to ground)

  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika or regular if you cannot find the smoked

  • 1 small can of tomato sauce

  • cheese for garnish or other condiments if desired.

  1. Mix the corn bread per instructions with milk and egg.

  2. Grease cooking pot well, including overing or lid

  3. Mix remaining ingredients well and add to the bottom of a pot in pot safe dish. Pack well and leave room on top for cornbread.

  4. Add corn bread batter and cook for 30 minutes at normal pressure, with the valve closed, and do a quick release.

bottom of page