top of page

Corned Beef and Cabbage in the InstantPot part Duo


A few weeks back, I posted a recipe for cooking corned beef and cabbage. And it was good. But the consistency of the meat, was not the fall apart deliciousness I think of when I think of corned beef and cabbage.

I decided to try again, and cook this time on the slow cooker setting. Horror I know, but it does do both. So why not try as a slow cooker too, Right?

Normally, I don't use a crockpot. I cook on the stove for about 16 hours, and honestly the next time I make corned beef and cabbage, I think I will try doing it around 16 hours like I have in the past, but in the InstantPot.

It makes the meat sooooo tender, and it falls apart. One of the foods I would say I love 💕 💗 💖.

So this adventure was to recreate that consistency. And while not perfect, it was WAY closer than the last method.

So I placed the corned beef onto the trivet fat side down, without rinsing and any extra fluid in the bag. If there is extra, add that to the pot too, and then fill up the pot enough to cover the meat.

As you can see, I used a pot lid that fit the IP, and set it for 14 hours. This was so that it didn't stop cooking while I was at work. I did it in the morning, and honestly it could have gone more hours (like maybe 16). Any amount of time over 4 hours is probably good but the longer, probably better.

When I took it out, I realized that this weird grey color is probably from the brand I used the last few times. I thought it was a mistake in how I was cooking, but decided it must be a brand without dyes or something. Totally defeats the purpose of corned beef, LOL.

Once I started cutting it, I could tell it was much more tender than when I had cooked at pressure. I was sooooo excited to try, and even before cooking the veggies, I was eating the meat 😑

Just like the old recipe, I pressure cooked the veg. I poured out all but about 2 cups of liquid from the pot. I added the potatoes first, then carrots and an onion, and then the cabbage.

I cooked them on the pressure setting for 3 minutes, with a quick release, and then served.

With this cooking method, the meat came out amazing. And I realized the veggies only steam, making the meal a little better for you than when not made in the IP. Not exactly sure why I didn't notice this with the other IP method I used, maybe because I didn't drain all the juices, and the veggies came out more greasy previously. But this method came out nearly grease free, but still with the same flavor of being cooked in the meat flavor.

 

Corned Beef and Cabbage in the InstantPot Part Duo.

  • Corned beef brisket with seasoning packet

  • Carrots

  • Potatoes

  • Cabbage

  1. Add the trivet.

  2. Add the brisket over the onions, and top with seasoning packet. DO NOT RINCE the brisket off.

  3. Cook on 8-16 hours on the slow cooking setting, covered with the IP lid or another lid you have one

  4. Remove the cooked brisket and cover with foil.

  5. Add veggies with potatoes on the bottom, carrots in the middle, and cabbage on top.

  6. Cook for 3 minutes on the pressure setting with the valve closed, and do a quick release.

  7. Serve and enjoy!!!

bottom of page