top of page

Corn and Potato Chowder in the Instant Pot


While this recipe docent look good, it is FABULOUS! it had become my go to quick fast minute recipe. Absolutely AMAZING!

With just a few things, that you might already have around your kitchen, you can make a fabulous dinner.

For the recipe you need broth, and I don't buy bulky broth any more, I uses something amazing called "Better than Bullion" It is a thick paste. you add about a spoonful to a cup of water.

You just dump 3 cups water mixed with 3 spoonfuls of better than bullion into the pot with 1 large onion, or 2 shallots, 2 cans of corn, and 2 potatoes peeled and cook at pressure for 10 minutes, and the do a quick release, but be sure to keep warm.

So this still looks like not much, but I then add a small amount of the milk of choice. This time I had half and half in my fridge, but I have used all types of milk, including nut milks with great results.

Additionally, I mix about 1 -2 tablespoons of flour (I always use chickpea flour as that is what I have)and little of the broth to thicken the soup. And then I dump a bag of cheese into the soup. I LOVE sharp cheddar, so that is what I tend to buy, but really any cheese you prefer is fine.

Then because the keep warm setting is being used, cover with the lid for about 5 minutes, and the soup thickens. And like magic, it suddenly will look like soup! Then just salt and pepper to taste.

This soup is has to be tasted to believe how amazing it is. The corn stays crunchy, the potatoes are perfectly cooked, and the flavor is amazing! Not too much cheese, I only add a little milk, but that can be easily adjusted to taste.

I have made this at least 5 times in the last 3 months. One day I had company, and had them make this because it was so easy to make. And everyone loves it.

 

bottom of page